Edgerrin James Selected For Induction Into Pro Football Hall Of Fame

Edgerrin James Selected For Induction Into Pro Football Hall Of Fame

Indianapolis – The NFL today announced former Indianapolis Colts running back Edgerrin James as an inductee into the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2020. The Class of 2020 will be formally enshrined in Canton, Ohio on Saturday, Aug. 8, 2020.

“Edgerrin James is one of the greatest players this league has ever seen and absolutely deserves this enshrinement in Canton,” said Jim Irsay, Indianapolis Colts Owner & CEO. “Edge was the textbook definition of an every-down running back who could do it all, and we knew he was special from day one. He was one of the game’s most productive players and was an important part of Colts teams that produced one of the winningest stretches in NFL history. I know he helped put that shine back on the Horseshoe, and all of Colts Nation is extremely proud today.”

James becomes the fourth Colts running back to be selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, joining Lenny Moore (1975), Eric Dickerson (1999) and Marshall Faulk (2011). James was originally selected by Indianapolis with the fourth overall pick of the 1999 NFL Draft out of Miami (Fla.). He was inducted into the team’s Ring of Honor in 2012.

In seven seasons in Indianapolis, James started all 96 games he played in and totaled 2,188 carries for 9,226 yards and 64 touchdowns. He also tallied 356 receptions for 2,839 yards and 11 touchdowns. James holds franchise career records for rushing attempts, rushing yards, rushing touchdowns, rushing attempts per game (22.8), rushing yards per game (96.1), first down runs (524), 100-yard rushing games (49), 1,000-yard rushing seasons (five from 1999-2005) and most seasons with 100-plus rushing attempts (seven from 1999-2005). He also holds Indianapolis single-season records for total yards from scrimmage (2,303 in 2000), rushing yards (1,709 in 2000), rushing yards per game (106.8 in 2000), 100-yard rushing games (10 in 1999) and first down runs (99 in 2000). James holds team rookie records for total rushing attempts (369), rushing yards (1,553), total scrimmage yards (2,139), total touchdowns (17) and rushing touchdowns (13).

James played in 148 career games (135 starts) in his time with the Colts (1999-2005), Arizona Cardinals (2006-08) and Seattle Seahawks (2009) and totaled 3,028 carries for 12,246 yards and 80 touchdowns. He also caught 433 passes for 3,364 yards and 11 touchdowns. James ranks ninth in NFL history in rushing attempts, 13th in rushing yards, 16th in scrimmage yards, 20th in rushing touchdowns, ninth in rushing yards per game (82.7), seventh in scrimmage yards per game (105.5), third in rushing attempts per game (20.5) and seventh in first down runs (666). Among running backs, he ranks 26th in NFL history in receptions, 40th in receiving yards and 19th in first down receptions (146). James finished his 11-year career with seven 1,000-yard rushing seasons and four seasons with 1,500 rushing yards or more. He is one of just four players in league history to register at least four 1,500-yard rushing seasons (Barry Sanders – five, Eric Dickerson – four, Walter Payton – four).

A four-time Pro Bowler (1999-2000, 2004-05) and three-time Associated Press All-Pro selection (1999-2000 and 2004), James was a member of the NFL All-Decade Team (2000-09). He was named the NFL’s Rookie of the Year in 1999 and won back-to-back rushing titles his first two seasons in the league (1,553 yards in 1999 and 1,709 yards in 2000), becoming the fifth NFL player to accomplish the feat (Eric Dickerson – L.A. Rams (1983-84), Earl Campbell – Houston Oilers (1978-79), Jim Brown – Cleveland (1957-58) and Bill Paschal – New York Giants (1943-44). James was named AFC Offensive Player of the Month on three occasions as a Colt.

Joining James as modern-era players in the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2020 are safety Steve Atwater, wide receiver Isaac Bruce, guard Steve Hutchinson and safety Troy Polamalu.

The five modern-era players will be joined in the Class of 2020 by the 15-person Centennial Slate that was announced last month, which includes wide receiver Harold Carmichael, offensive tackle Jim Covert, head coach Bill Cowher, safety Bobby Dillon, safety Cliff Harris, offensive tackle Winston Hill, head coach Jimmy Johnson, defensive tackle Alex Karras, administrator/president Steve Sabol, safety Donnie Shell, offensive tackle Duke Slater, end Mac Speedie, defensive end/linebacker Ed Sprinkle, commissioner Paul Tagliabue and contributor/general manager George Young, who spent seven seasons (1968-74) with the Colts in personnel and coaching.

About author

You might also like

Sports 0 Comments

Tigers’ Cabrera on DL for 1st time, out 6 weeks (Yahoo Sports)

Detroit slugger Miguel Cabrera will be sidelined with a calf injury for at least six weeks after the Tigers placed the AL batting leader on the disabled list for the

Indiana 0 Comments

2016 Big Ten Conference Tournament – Michigan’s Last Second Three Drowns Out Top Ranked Indiana 72-69 Final

INDIANAPOLIS | IN – 48 seconds left on the clock and Michigan had previously been 0-10 from the three point arch, you would think Indiana would be able to continue

Sports 0 Comments

Nats put RHP Strasburg on disabled list with oblique strain (Yahoo Sports)

The Washington Nationals have put pitcher Stephen Strasburg back on the 15-day disabled list, this time with a strained left oblique. The NL East leaders made the move Sunday before